Asia Technological University Network (ATU-Net) is a strategic international alliance of which Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) is the Chair. It was established on 9th August 2016 during the 8th University Presidents Forum at Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM), Johor Bahru, Malaysia, with the purpose of connecting technology-focused institutions of higher learning in Asia. Its mission is to support member universities in achieving world-class quality of education and research in engineering and technology through strategic international alliance. 

Membership of the network is open to all technology-focused institutions of higher learning in Asia. >> See list of members


Montage during the launching of ATU-Net on 9 August 2016

ATU-Net Agreement Signing Ceremony, 9 August 2017, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, Johor Bahru, Malaysia


Opportunities for Capacity Building

To provide opportunities for capacity-building, including joint teaching, among member universities

Student & Staff Mobility

To enhance student and staff mobility in selected thematic area between member universities

Collaborative Academic and Research Projects

To enable pump-priming of collaborative academic and research projects between member universities

Best Practices for Better Graduates

To share best practices in producing innovative and entrepreneurial graduates in sustainable environment


More than 50 students from countries including China, Japan, Philippines, Thailand, and Malaysia participated in a training programme by ATU-Net that aimed to train students to leverage technology to create social media footprint across cultures
Fifty-seven delegates from 39 universities around the world attended ATU-Net Presidents Roundtable which was organised in conjunction with the “7th World Engineering Education Forum (WEEF) 2017 in Kuala Lumpur.
1st ATU-Net Board Meeting at UTM: The meeting was attended by representatives from 11 universities from eight countries and chaired by Datuk Prof Dr Wahid Omar, Vice Chancellor UTM.

Universiti Teknologi Malaysia is the Secretariat of ATU-Net. For further inquiries, contact ATU-Net Coordinator, Dr Diana at diana@utm.my.